Beauty

My Everyday Makeup Routine

Hey lovelies! So today I thought I would share my everyday makeup routine with you all, it is super simple and honestly takes me no time at all. As well, all the makeup (with one exception) is from the drugstore so it is super affordable for anyone on a budget!

makeup 2

So I am going to be totally honest and confess that I do not wear primer. Like ever. Sometimes when I can be bothered I wear under eye primer, but that is about it. To be totally honest I just feel like primer clogs my pores and I don’t love that. What usually happens then, is I just go straight to foundation. This Covergirl foundation has been my go to all winter because I am super pale – as you can tell because ivory I believe is the lightest shade. In the summer I will use various BB creams or things of the sort, but for the rest of the year I use this. All I do is put a little foundation on the back of my hand and then use a blending sponge to apply it all over my face.

makeup 1

Hoewever, if I am going out somewhere that I know I will need my makeup to be more long lasting, I will use my Clinique foundation and powder. This of course, is the one exception to the drugstore makeup. I use the same technique to apply it as previously mentioned. The foundation here is in the shade 01 – Fresh Alabaster – I told you guys I’m pale! Haha. The pressed powder here is also Clinique and it is in the shade 5 – fair (VF-P), and I just use the sponge that comes with the powder to apply it.

makeup 8

After foundation I then use this Nyx Photogenic Concealer. The purple colour is meant to brighten the face and looks really good in pictures. I couldn’t find an affordable all over the face purple primer, so I was ecstatic to even find this. I just apply it underneath my eyes and blend it in using my ring finger and it honestly works wonders on tired eyes. The bottle pretty much says it all, but HD concealer is no lie, the first time I used this I fell in love!

makeup 7

Now, I have used so many different brands and shades of concealer I can’t even keep track. Everything either has horrible coverage, is too orange, or is too thick and stands out under my powder. So far this has been the best that I have come across. This concealer is in the shade fair, again because I am so pale I could be a ghost, but even this still looks slightly orange on me. I do my best with my blending sponge though, to blend it in enough so that you can’t tell it is orange-tinted. I also use this as an under eye concealer because I don’t see the appeal in needing two separate concealers.

makeup 10

After all my liquid makeup is on, I go in with this elf palette called “cool.” Though the picture does not capture the colours well, the colours are pink, yellow, green and blue. The palette is a colour correcting palette, each colour balancing out a colour of your skin. For example; the green is to even out red tones in your skin. What I do is take a powder brush that is some off brand name, swirl it through all of the colours and then apply it over my whole face.

makeup 6makeup 9

After that layer of powder, I put on even more powder. I use a loose powder from Covergirl in the shade 105 – translucent fair. It is a translucent powder meaning it can go over any foundation and blend in perfectly. I have loved this powder ever since the first time I stole my moms haha! Again, I use the same powder brush to apply this all over my face. It comes with a little face pouff, but I don’t use it because I can’t blend with it.

makeup 5makeup 12

Now, I am not one to contour, the thought of it scares me. I mean I would love to try it, but I am not that skilled and I would end up with random dark spots of contour that I couldn’t blend. So instead I use this easy little palette by elf called “St Lucia”. The blush is so pretty, it is a peachy pink colour and it actually doubles as a highlight because of the sparkle. I apply that with my elf angled blush brush onto my cheek bones, and then underneath that I go in with the bronzer. Then to make sure everything is blended, I grab my powder brush and swirl that through the highlight and bronzer on my face.

makeup 3makeup 15

Generally I don’t use eye shadow, but I thought I would include my eye shadow routine here anyways, because when I do actually use it, it is always the same. Also, yes I know you are supposed to do eyes first, then the rest of your face, but I don’t play by the rules.

So first, I use a super generic eye primer by Hard Candy and just use my ring finger to apply it. Then I use this small palette by essence called “12 – Purple Day,” and I use the rose gold shade, which as you can see has been used quite a bit. And I just apply that all over my lid with a QUO shadow brush. Then I take the shimmery grey baked eye shadow by Hard Candy in the shade 2137, and I use a QUO crease brush to apply that in the crease of my eyelid. After that I take the white Hard Candy baked eye shadow in the shade 2153 and apply that in the inner corner of my eye with the same crease brush.

makeup 4

After I am done with eye shadow, I use one of my many eyeliners and just smudge that onto my water line on my lower eyelid. This eyeliner in particular I always go back to, it’s an NYC brow and eyeliner pencil, and it’s in the shade 921 – Jet Black. I have tried other drugstore brands, but so far this is my favourite. If we were going with non-drugstore makeup, however, I would say Smashbox has my favourite one.

makeup 11

Almost done! After eyeliner I curl my eyelashes using really any eyelash curler, this one I think was just a drugstore brand one. Then, I apply my favourite mascara to my top and bottom lashes because I think only putting mascara on my top lashes makes them look awkwardly long in comparison with the bottom ones. This mascara has been my go to since some lady in a drugstore recommended it to me when she saw me struggling to pick a kind. It is the Maybelline colossal volume express cat eyes in the shade “Glam Black.” I. Love. It. The brush takes some getting used to because it is curved to grab all your lashes, but I haven’t looked back once since getting it.

makeup 13makeup 14

Finally, for my lippies I go with one of two things. The first is my most used, it is a Rimmel lipstick and a Victoria’s Secret lip gloss combo. The lipstick is in the shade “Coffee Shimmer,” and the lipgloss is the Victoria’s Secret brand called “Beauty Rush,” in the shade “Hot Cocoanut.” This combination is by far my most used and probably my most favourite, plus it tastes like candy (lol). If I am not using this combo though, I am most likely using the AVON lip crayon in the shade “Berry Blush.” The colour is not as dark as it looks and the shade on the bottom of the crayon I find isn’t true to the colour inside, so it isn’t too dark and is perfect for daytime or nighttime.

So there you have it! My everyday makeup routine, super simple and all the products are relatively inexpensive since they are drugstore brand because I am a University student on a budget haha. Let me know what your go to products are!

Love always,

Hailey

Leave a comment